Four years ago the Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award was renamed the McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney who is often described as the Godfather of Tartan Noir. Last year Bloody Scotland also introduced a prize for The Bloody Scotland Debut Scottish Crime Book of the Year. This year both are sponsored by the Glencairn Glass. At a time when debut writers have suffered more than anyone else due to bookshop closures the debut prize is more important than ever:

Shortlisted authors are:

Deborah Masson, Hold Your Tongue (Transworld)
Stephen O’Rourke, The Crown Agent (Sandstone)
Marion Todd, See Them Run (Canelo)
Francine Toon, Pine (Doubleday)

One, Francine Toon, is also longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize which includes: Lin Anderson, Time for the Dead (Macmillan)
Lisa Gray, Bad Memory (Thomas & Mercer)
Andrew James Greig, Whirligig (Fledgling)
Doug Johnstone, A Dark Matter (Orenda)
Val McDermid, How the Dead Speak (Little, Brown)
Ben McPherson, The Island (HarperCollins)
James Oswald, Bury Them Deep (Headline)
Ambrose Parry, The Art of Dying (Canongate) aka Chris Broomyre and Marisa Haetzman
Mary Paulson-Ellis, The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing (Macmillan)
Caro Ramsay, The  Red, Red Snow (Severn House)
Craig Robertson, Watch Him Die (Simon & Schuster)
Francine Toon, Pine (Doubleday)

Finalists for the McIlvanney Prize will be revealed at the beginning of September and the winner of both prizes will be revealed on Friday 18 September. The Bloody Scotland Debut Prize will be judged by a panel including crime writer and founding director of Bloody Scotland Lin Anderson and representatives from Waterstones and the Glencairn Glass. The McIlvanney Prize will be judged by Stuart Cosgrove, writer and broadcaster, James Crawford, chair of Publishing Scotland and presenter of BBC series Scotland from the Sky and Karen Robinson, Editor of The Times Crime Club.

The McIlvanney award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones. The 2020 longlist features established crime writers and debuts, corporates and indies. Previous winners are Manda Scott with A Treachery of Spies in 2019 (who chose to share her prize with all the finalists), Liam McIlvanney with The Quaker in 2018, Denise Mina with The Long Drop 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012. The inaugural Bloody Scotland Debut Prize 2019 was won by Claire Askew with All The Hidden Truths.

If you’re too impatient to give our video a wee view…

The Scottish Crime Debut of the Year Shortlist. Deborah Masson - Hold our Tongue. Stephen O'Rourke - The Crown Agent. Marion Todd - See Them Run. Francine Toon - Pine.
Deborah Masson – Hold Your Tongue
Stephen O’Rourke – The Crown Agent
Marion Todd – See Them Run
Francine Toon – Pine

Read more about the shortlist here
The McIlvanney Prize Longlist. Lin Anderson - Time for the Dead. Lisa Grey - Bad Memory. Andrew James Greig - Whirligig. Doug Johnstone - A Dark Matter. Val McDermid - How the Dead Speak. Ben McPherson - The Island. James Oswald - Bury Them Deep. Ambrose Parry - The Art of Dying. Mary Paulson-Ellis - The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing. Caro Ramsay - The Red Red Show. Craig Robertson - Watch Him Die. Francine Toon - Pine.
Lin Anderson – Time for the Dead
Lisa Gray – Bad Memory
Andrew James Greig – Whirligig
Doug Johnstone – A Dark Matter
Val McDermid – How the Dead Speak
Ben McPherson – The Island
James Oswald – Bury Them Deep
Ambrose Parry – The Art of Dying
Mary Paulson-Ellis – The Inheritance of Solomon Farthing
Caro Ramsay – The Red Red Snow

Craig Robertson – Watch Him Die
Francine Toon – Pine

Read more about the longlist here

The shortlist for the McIlvanney Prize will be announced on the 1st of September before the winners of both prizes will be revealed on the 18th of September.